CIP – Beyond Limits – Oskar Schlemmer – Research

Creative Industry Practice

https://rosswolfe.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/costume-for-the-triadic-ballet-from-e2809cthe-theater-of-the-bauhause-schlemmer.jpg?w=536&h=896

I have been researching costumes made by Oskar Schlemmer, this is not really the way I see my project heading but I like the bizarreness  of his costumes, in a way it fits with what I’m trying to accomplish by building on the idea of the uncanny.https://rosswolfe.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/oskar_schlemer_sprial-costume-1926.jpg?w=658&h=896https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/2e/b7/f5/2eb7f5fe95ad43da107f35b917484f4c.jpg

There’s something unnerving about Schlemmer’s designs, upon first glance they seem to be very complex, however when I started to really look at the costumes they are actually quite simple. I have benefited from this research in a kind of indirect way, it’s not the way the costumes are made that has helped me, but its the utter weirdness of them. I want to create something that’s nearly normal whilst being pretty odd, resembling some kind of hyperreality.

Leave a Reply

