FMP – Dramarama – Final 3D Design

Inventivity, Projects

Today I have finished my 3D element for my FMP, I set myself the task of interpreting the phenomenon of reading,  and how could I express that in a 3D way?

I wanted to recreate the feeling of when you read a brilliant sentence that just resonates with you. I set out to create movement and energy bursting from the page, in a hope to visually communicate the feeling of reading a magnificent sentence.

I think that I have succeeded in visually representing that feeling of excitement, joy and brilliance. I am happy that I have stayed away from figurative 3D forms such as flowers, buildings, people etc., and I think that it works much better the abstract way I have chosen to do it. I think that it works because my forms are abstract, which forces you to interact with what you see, trying to interpret it, and hopefully drawing your own individual experience and conclusions, just like reading a story.

I can imagine these 3 pieces as large installations, so large, strong and durable that people could climb and sit on them, opening up a new level of interpretation and interaction, but unfortunately for a multitude of reasons, that would not have been feasible for this project.

With hindsight, I wish I had more time, especially to concentrate on the paper cones. It was surprisingly hard to make a perfect cone with a flat base. So I was annoyed about that because it doesn’t look exactly how I imagined it would, it looks rushed and unfinished.

It took me at least 4 hours to roll all the individual pieces of pastel paper, which was worth it because it was the main element for my 3D design. I wrapped them up in a rubber band to get the idea of how it will look. Originally I wanted all the rolls to sit together in one cluster, oh if life was only that simple, trying to stand each individual roll up next to each other was incredibly difficult.

However, I am glad it worked out this way though, I think the rolls spread out give a stronger impact, communicating a wider range of movement, and you get to see more of the rolls when they are separated.

Leave a Reply

